Kirby Lawrence Hill

Kirby was born into a family that moved frequently early in his life. In each new location, his family, in search of a sense of community and a place to grow in the faith, quickly connected with a Presbyterian congregation. His church experience was foundational. 

After obtaining his bachelor’s degree in psychology at Baylor University, he felt called to go to Union Presbyterian Seminary in Richmond, Virginia, where he obtained a four-year doctor of ministry degree. Over the course of the 39 years since, he has served churches in Memphis, Tennessee, Atlanta, Georgia, Washington, D.C., and most recently, Abington Presbyterian Church. Each call included caring ministries within and beyond the congregation. He views it as a great blessing when people have allowed him to journey with them as they face a variety of joys and challenges.

Years ago, Kirby went on a Presbyterian Peacemaking Program trip to Israel/Palestine, and met the person who would become his wife and soulmate, Nancy Lawrence Hill. They are blessed with a daughter, Grace, who is a second-grade teacher in San Francisco, and a son, Jordan, who does television production work in Philadelphia. Kirby enjoys spending time with family at the beach or enjoying nature while walking their dog, Sophie. He is enriched by a variety of music and live stage productions, enjoys reading history and following Philly sports. He is grateful for the caring community experiences within the church, and joyfully anticipates such expressions of God’s grace going forward.


Church Leadership


Dottie Bowen, Clerk

Elder Class of 2025

Keith Brinks

Meggin Capers

Maeve Daley-Gibson (Y)

Susan Daley-Gibson

Fred Fletcher

Eli Press (Y)

Susan Swanson

Pam Walsh+

Elder Class of 2026

Emily Cieri+

Carolyn Gerrish+

Sarah Gunther

Linda Griska+

Whitney Hoffman

Joe Parente+

Carl Reynolds

Elder Class of 2027

Bill Bosch

Dottie Bowen+

Anne Chamberlin

Elliot Dee+

Meg Holdsworth

Annie Lee+

Nancy Taylor


Agnes Norfleet

Leigh DeVries

Kirby Lawrence Hill

Rebecca Kirkpatrick

Rachel Pedersen

Frank Pottorff

Board of Deacons

Charlotte Swenson, Moderator

Deacon Class of 2025

Nina Betrand (Y)

Gary Davis

Judy Frazier

Andy Kuntz+

Kylie Liggett (Y)

Sandie Nicholson+

Elaine Robertson

Charlotte Swenson

Anne Wendel+

Deacon Class of 2026

Angie Baturka+

Steve Burdick+

Nadine Champagne+

Stacey Fagan+

Jennie Jacobson

Kay Kerr

Rob Stoy

Deacon Class of 2027

Ted Collett+

Josh Hirt

Sharna Liggett

David Noble

Seth Pidot

Katie Quigley

Kara Udicious+

Board of Trustees

Tobin Whamond, President

Trustee Class of 2025

Dave Barrickman

Andy Bees

Kirstin Engelman+

Dan Irwin

Marge Kennedy

Tobin Whamond+

Trustee Class of 2026

Bart Bastian

Ruth Brader

Linda Gamble+

Mike Giampetroni

Dave Hastings+

Jeff Libson

Trustee Class of 2027

Scott Addis

Terry Charlton

Peter Cordray+

Rob gunther+

Dave Reiner+

Dan Sherry

(Y) Indicates a youth serving a one-year term as Elder or Deacon. + Indicates a person is serving their second three-year term. Updated 3/24/2022