Leigh DeVries

Leigh DeVries grew up in Nashville, Tennessee, in a family with a long line of Presbyterian pastors. She attended Rhodes College in Memphis, majoring in Religious Studies with a minor in Music. She served as a youth minister in Nashville, beginning her seminary education through the Center for Youth Ministry Training. Two years later, Leigh moved to Princeton, New Jersey, to attend Princeton Theological Seminary. She graduated with a Master of Divinity, an Master of Arts in Christian Education and Formation, and a certificate in Women, Theology and Gender.

She recently served as the Associate Director of an innovative community-based youth ministry in Bend, Oregon. As a minister of the Gospel, Leigh seeks to cultivate spaces where all persons – especially young people – see themselves and one another as profoundly valued and unique expressions of their Creator. Leigh has a passion for youth ministry and a gift for connecting with youth of all ages and backgrounds. Her experience in youth ministry in a large church has given her a host of ideas and experiences to bring to youth programs at BMPC.

From Leigh’s statement of faith: “I believe in a God who is utterly with us, regardless of social status, nationality, religion or any signifier that separates us... Love is the what, the why, the how of who God is.”

Leigh moved to Bryn Mawr with her wife, Jenni Herold, and their dog Otis.


Church Leadership


Dottie Bowen, Clerk

Elder Class of 2025

Keith Brinks

Meggin Capers

Maeve Daley-Gibson (Y)

Susan Daley-Gibson

Fred Fletcher

Eli Press (Y)

Susan Swanson

Pam Walsh+

Elder Class of 2026

Emily Cieri+

Carolyn Gerrish+

Sarah Gunther

Linda Griska+

Whitney Hoffman

Joe Parente+

Carl Reynolds

Elder Class of 2027

Bill Bosch

Dottie Bowen+

Anne Chamberlin

Elliot Dee+

Meg Holdsworth

Annie Lee+

Nancy Taylor


Agnes Norfleet

Leigh DeVries

Kirby Lawrence Hill

Rebecca Kirkpatrick

Rachel Pedersen

Frank Pottorff

Board of Deacons

Charlotte Swenson, Moderator

Deacon Class of 2025

Nina Betrand (Y)

Gary Davis

Judy Frazier

Andy Kuntz+

Kylie Liggett (Y)

Sandie Nicholson+

Elaine Robertson

Charlotte Swenson

Anne Wendel+

Deacon Class of 2026

Angie Baturka+

Steve Burdick+

Nadine Champagne+

Stacey Fagan+

Jennie Jacobson

Kay Kerr

Rob Stoy

Deacon Class of 2027

Ted Collett+

Josh Hirt

Sharna Liggett

David Noble

Seth Pidot

Katie Quigley

Kara Udicious+

Board of Trustees

Tobin Whamond, President

Trustee Class of 2025

Dave Barrickman

Andy Bees

Kirstin Engelman+

Dan Irwin

Marge Kennedy

Tobin Whamond+

Trustee Class of 2026

Bart Bastian

Ruth Brader

Linda Gamble+

Mike Giampetroni

Dave Hastings+

Jeff Libson

Trustee Class of 2027

Scott Addis

Terry Charlton

Peter Cordray+

Rob gunther+

Dave Reiner+

Dan Sherry

(Y) Indicates a youth serving a one-year term as Elder or Deacon. + Indicates a person is serving their second three-year term. Updated 3/24/2022